Griffs’ Las Vegas Classic games released

By Nick Veronica

Canisius’ opponents for the Las Vegas Classic were revealed Friday: Penn State, Kent State and Louisiana-Monroe.

IAGS confirmed last month that the Griffs would be playing in the December event.

Each team in the Classic plays four games, with two at campus sites and two at Orleans Arena in Las Vegas. The Griffs will be on the road for both games played at campus sites, as was expected. Here are Canisius’ games:

  • Tuesday, Dec. 10 at Penn State, time TBD
  • Saturday, Dec. 12 at Kent State, time TBD
  • Tuesday, Dec. 22 vs. Louisiana-Monroe at Orleans Arena, Las Vegas, 5:30 p.m. ET
  • Wednesday, Dec. 23 vs. Hampton or Nicholls State at Orleans Arena, Las Vegas, time TBD

SMU and Colorado round out the eight-team field. Fox Sports 1 will air the championship and third-place games, but with Canisius’ final opponent already known to be either Hampton or Nicholls State, it would appear the Griffs can’t qualify for the championship.

Canisius’ full schedule will be released in the next few weeks.

Canisius to play in Las Vegas Classic


By Nick Veronica

Canisius will play in the 2015 Continental Tire Las Vegas Classic, an eight-team event that promises four games, with the final two at Orleans Arena in Las Vegas on December 22 and 23.

Other teams in the event include SMU, Colorado, Penn State, Kent State, Louisiana-Monroe, Nicholls State and Hampton. Opponents will be announced at a later date.

Each school’s first two games will be held on campus sites, with SMU and Penn State already announcing both of their games will be at home.

Tickets for the Las Vegas portion of the event, sold only in two-day packages, begin at $47. (This event should not be confused with the Continental Tire Las Vegas Invitational, a similar event held in November.)

Third-place and championship games of the tournament — on Wednesday, Dec. 23 at 9 and 11:30 p.m. EST — will be shown live on Fox Sports 1. Past winners of the event include Kansas State (2008), Alabama (2009), New Mexico (2010), Baylor (2011), Colorado State (2012), UNLV (2013) and Loyola (Ill.) (2014).